JR Kansai-Hiroshima Area Pass

The best way to enjoy Kansai and a trip along the Sanyo Coast is with a JR Kansai-Hiroshima Area Pass. For 5 consecutive days, you get unlimited rides on JR trains (including the Shinkansen), local buses, and the ferry. The Hello Kitty Shinkansen is also covered by the pass.

Let’s examine how the JR Kansai-Hiroshima Area Pass can help you save time and money.



Foreign passport holders with temporary visitor visas can use the JR Kansai-Hiroshima Area Pass. Japanese passport holders and residents with a non-visitor visa are ineligible for the pass.

You must buy a voucher from your local travel agent or the JR West Online Train Reservation site to get a pass. The voucher must be exchanged at selected JR exchange offices within 90 days of the purchase date. Don’t forget your passport, or you won’t get your pass.

Passes for children aged 6-11 are discounted, while kids under five can travel on trains for free with an adult.


The JR Kansai-Hiroshima Area Pass only comes in a five-day duration. Here are the prices: 

Price from 1 October 2023 

  Overseas Travel Agent JR West Online Reservation Site
Adult Child Adult Child
5-day pass A$180 (17,000 yen) A$90 (8,500 yen) A$180 (17,000 yen) A$90 (8,500 yen)

How to Exchange the Voucher

In order to get your JR Kansai-Hiroshima Area Pass without any issues, here are a few pointers you must remember:

  • Your exchange voucher is valid for three months from the date of purchase.
  • Travellers aged six or older must have a voucher and a valid foreign passport in order to obtain a pass. You cannot get it without a foreign passport.
  • Confirm the date you want to exchange your voucher. Once you get your pass, the timer timer starts and cannot be modified.
  • Any unused MCOs are refundable minus a 10% handling fee (220 yen minimum per pass). The MCO must be within a year of its purchase date and hasn’t been used yet in order to be eligible for a refund.
  • You can only request a refund at the station where you exchanged or purchased the pass. Refunds for overseas vouchers must be requested from the travel agent who sold them.

Here’s a list of where you can exchange your MCO:

  • Kyoto Prefecture
    • Kyoto Station – 6:30 a.m. to 9 p.m. daily
    • Fukuchiyama Station – 6 a.m. to 8:10 p.m. daily
    • NTA TiS Kyoto Station – 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. and 1 p.m. 4 p.m. daily
  • Osaka Prefecture
    • Shin-Osaka Station – 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. daily
    • Shin-Osaka Travel Service Center – 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. daily
    • Osaka Station – 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. daily
    • Kansai Airport Station – 5:30 a.m. to 11 p.m. daily
    • NTA TiS Osaka Branch – 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. and 2 p.m. to 6 p.m. daily
  • Hyogo Prefecture
    • Sannomiya Station – 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. daily
    • NTA TiS Sannomiya Branch – 11 a.m. to 6 p.m. on weekdays; 11 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. on Saturdays and holidays; closed Sundays.
  • Nara Prefecture
    • Nara Station – 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. daily
  • Wakayama Prefecture
    • Wakayama Station – 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. daily
  • Okayama Prefecture
    • Okayama Station – 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. daily
  • Hiroshima Prefecture
    • Hiroshima Station – 5:30 a.m. to 11 p.m. daily

How to Use the Pass

The JR Kansai-Hiroshima Area Pass must be shown to staff before passing through the station gates. Seat reservations can be made online or at a station office.

Validity and Exclusions

Your pass is valid for 5 consecutive days. The first day starts the moment you receive your pass, and the next day starts at 12 a.m. Please keep this in mind when planning your trip and exchanging your voucher.

The pass can be used for unlimited rides on these services:

  • Reserved seats on the Sanyo Shinkansen between Shin-Osaka and Hiroshima
  • Hello Kitty Shinkansen
  • The following Limited Express trains:
    • Haruka
    • Kuroshio (reserved seats only)
    • Thunderbird
    • Kounotori (reserved seats only)
    • Super Hakuto
    • Kinosaki (reserved seats only)
    • Hashidate (reserved seats only)
    • Maizuru (reserved seats only)
  • A separate ticket is required when travelling on the Super Hakuto and Super Inaba between Kamigori and Tottori.
  • Local JR West train lines
  • Rapid and Special Rapid train lines
  • JR West Miyajima Ferry between Miyajimaguchi and Miyajima
  • Local JR West Bus routes

The pass cannot be used for the following:

  • Sanyo Shinkansen between Hiroshima and Hakata
  • Tokaido Shinkansen between Shin Osaka and Tokyo
  • Kyushu Shinkansen between Hakata and Kagoshima-Chuo
  • The Special Rapid “A Seat” paid seating
  • Expressway buses

Traveling around Japan is an extraordinary experience that allows you to immerse yourself in a unique blend of traditional and modern cultures. The Kansai Hiroshima Pass is your ticket to an unforgettable journey, offering seamless transportation among some of Japan’s most popular destinations. From the historic city of Kyoto to the vibrant metropolis of Osaka and the poignant reminders of Hiroshima, each destination offers its own unique experience.

The Kansai Hiroshima Pass is a travel pass that grants you unlimited access to some of Japan’s most sought-after destinations. It includes access to the Sanyo Shinkansen, a high-speed rail line that connects Shin-Osaka to Hakata, with stops in Okayama, Hiroshima, and Kokura. The pass also grants you access to the Nozomi and Mizuho Shinkansen trains, providing additional convenience and flexibility in your travel plans.

3. Kyoto: A City That Breathes History and Culture

Kyoto, a city steeped in history and culture, is home to many stunning Buddhist temples, gardens, imperial palaces, and Shinto shrines. Renowned sites like the golden temple of Kinkaku-ji and Fushimi Inari Taisha, with its thousands of torii gates, are just a few of the highlights that make Kyoto a must-visit destination.

4. Osaka: The Heartbeat of Japan

As Japan’s second-largest metropolis, Osaka is a city that never sleeps. Known for its modern food culture and bustling nightlife, Osaka offers an exciting blend of traditional and contemporary attractions. Iconic landmarks like Osaka Castle and the neon-lit Dotonbori district are sure to leave a lasting impression.

5. Kobe: A Cosmopolitan Port City

Wedged between the sea and mountains, Kobe is a vibrant city that offers a delightful mix of natural beauty and urban sophistication. Famous for its succulent Kobe beef, sake breweries, and bustling Chinatown, Kobe is a feast for the senses.

6. Himeji: Home to a World Heritage Site

Himeji, a city known for its UNESCO World Heritage site, Himeji Castle, is a feast for the eyes. This architectural masterpiece from Japan’s feudal era offers a unique glimpse into the country’s rich history.

7. Kurashiki: Step Back in Time

In Kurashiki, you’ll feel as if you’ve traveled back in time to the Edo period. The city’s Bikan historical quarter, with its beautifully preserved merchant houses and picturesque canals, offers a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of modern life.

8. Hiroshima: A City of Peace and Reflection

Hiroshima, a city marked by its past, provides a poignant reminder of the devastating consequences of war. The Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park, Atomic Bomb Dome, and Peace Memorial Museum are must-visit sites that offer a powerful message of peace and hope.`